Have a link or comment you’d like to share? 
Please email to gbnewal@gmail.com


Date:  Tuesday, May 18th, 2021

Place:  Gallagher’s

President Kelly Heaney called the meeting to order at 2:30 pm.

A quorum was declared with 20 members in attendance. 

Kelly Heaney led the Pledge of Allegiance and Steve Paradise gave the Invocation. 

The following officers were present:

President Kelly Heaney, Vice President Dave Kroll, Secretary/Treasurer Art Ciesielczyk, Recording Secretary Jenny Starry, Bay Breeze Editor Kelsey Helf, Clerk Craft Director Steve Paradise and Motor Vehicle Craft Director Jeremy Linberg.  

Minutes of the April 2021 meeting were read by Recording Secretary Jenny Starry.  A motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Dave Kroll to accept the minutes.  Motion passed unanimously. 

 The financial report for April was read by Secretary/Treasurer Art Ciesielczyk.  

Executive Committee:  The e-board discussed the picnic and union apparel, get your orders in by May 31st.   

Labor/Management:  Some items discussed were postal vehicles in the employee lot, DB’s at 302 stackers and getting 2 sweepers, the air handler units, repairing pie racks, no new news on Wausau, lead clerk issues, new PSE training, and broken PIT equipment and lifts and pallet jacks.         

Grievance:  A TACS grievance was won and split among lead clerks.  Several attendance grievances were settled, there are several grievances at step 2.      

Safety/Health:  Postal safety people came to the plant and said our building is safe.  Several issues were brought up to them.  PIT Equipment drivers are being monitored.  They do have the right of way.  OSHA still didn’t come to a decision on 8 ft or 11 ft aisle.                    

Legislative:  Steve Paradise gave the legislative report.  He talked about the Bills being re-introduced by the Democrats concerning the Postal Service.  He talked about the CDC’s policy on masks and that it doesn’t apply to the Postal Service.  Go to APWU.org to sign up to attend a Town Hall Meeting or a rally hosted by APWU President Mark Diamondstein.              



New Members:  Crystal DeGayner and Cody Mikula    

Lost Members:  Shawnee Phipps, Tanya Drewery, Keegan Wauters, Amy Wery                



Get your orders in for your union apparel.  Orders must be in by May 31st


A motion was made by Dave Kroll and seconded Jeremy Linberg that we pay an additional $12.05 to the shredding company to cover the cost of the shredding.  Motion passed unanimously.

 A motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Dave Kroll to pay the 3 election officials their prevailing wage to take a 2 hour zoom class on the election of union officials done by the National APWU on September 8th.  Motion passed unanimously. 

A motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Dave Kroll that all nominees for President and Vice President get paid their prevailing wage to take a 2 hour zoom class on fiduciary responsibilities on October 14th.  Motion passed unanimously. 

A motion was made by Ekaterina Bouyear and seconded by Jeremy Linberg to get 3 months of financial reports from 2019 and 2020 to evaluate if we can afford to pay the union stewards.  Motion passed unanimously. 

A motion was made by Bryce Thomas and seconded by Dave Kroll that the union donate a basket up to $100 for a benefit for Amy Loch’s son.  Motion passed unanimously.      


The Tony Van Scholarship will be in the Bay Breeze.  Any questions or if you need an application, see Art.  The winner will be drawn at the picnic. 

If you are interested in being the Election Committee Chairman, let Kelly or Art know.  This is a paid position.  It pays 25 hours at Level 7/Step O. 

The union is collecting VOE surveys.  Turn them in unopened to be entered in a drawing to win a $50 gift card.  2 winners will be drawn in June and 2 in January of every year. 


A motion was made by Jeremy Linberg and seconded by Cheryl McCandless to have the next meeting on Tuesday, June 22nd at 7 pm at Gallagher’s.  Motion passed unanimously. 


A motion was made by Cheryl McCandless and seconded by Bryce Thomas to adjourn the meeting.  Motion passed unanimously.  NEWAL meeting adjourned at 4 pm.

The $10 door prize was won by Dave Kroll.

The $180 rolling jackpot winner was Kim Weckler.  She was not present so it will be $200 at the next meeting. 

Attendees: See attached sign-in sheet.

Minutes submitted by Recording Secretary Jenny Starry.