Have a link or comment you’d like to share? 
Please email to gbnewal@gmail.com


Date:  Wednesday, October 25th, 2020

Place:  Gallagher’s

President Kelly Heaney called the meeting to order at 1900 hours.

A quorum was declared with 10 members in attendance. 

Kelly Heaney led the Pledge of Allegiance and Steve Paradise gave the Invocation. 

The following officers were present:

President Kelly Heaney, Vice President Dave Kroll, Secretary/Treasurer Art Ciesielczyk, Recording Secretary Jenny Starry, Bay Breeze Editor Kelsey Helf, Clerk Craft Director Steve Paradise, and Maintenance Craft Director Pete Knutson.  Motor Vehicle Craft Director Jeremy Linberg was excused.

Minutes of the September 2020 meeting were read by Jenny Starry.  

A motion was made by Dave Kroll and seconded by Steve Paradise to accept the minutes.  Motion passed unanimously.   

The financial report for September 2020 was read by Secretary/Treasurer Art Ciesielczyk.  

Executive Committee:  The e-board discussed Kelly attending labor/management meetings and paying members to do special projects.       

Labor/Management:  Steve met with Jeff and they discussed the use of masks and people being walked out for not wearing them, the fans, and semi’s turning around by the VMF.  

Grievance:  Line-H grievances, principal duty assignment grievances and an express mail grievance were filed.     

Safety/Health:  There were 2 accidents in our district this fiscal year and 9 last year.  

Legislative:  Steve Paradise gave the legislative report.  He talked about the upcoming election.

OWCP:  If you get hurt, it helps if you have a witness.   


New Members:  Viviana Klimek, Karyn Patenaude, and Angela Hill.     

Lost Members:  Dave Lardinois, retired.        



A Motion was made by Steve Paradise and seconded by Chris Opolka to take the motion off the table that pertains to adding to the Standing Book of Resolutions that the Election committee be compensated for their time.  Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Dave Kroll and seconded by Art Ciesielczyk to add to the Standing Book of Resolutions that the Election Committee Chairperson shall be compensated for 25 hours at the Level 7, Step O rate.  Furthermore, the additional 2 Election Committee members will be compensated for 5 hours at the Level 6, Step O rate.  Every attempt will be made to have all 3 APWU/NEWAL crafts represented on the Committee.  Motion passed unanimously. 


A motion was made by Art Ciesielczyk and seconded by Chris Opolka to pay volunteers for special Union projects, including Executive Board members, at the rate of $20 per hour.  These special projects do not fall under an officer’s normal duties.  Volunteers must be current APWU members or former APWU member retirees.  Motion passed unanimously. 

A motion was made by Art Ciesielczyk and seconded by Dave Kroll to add to the Standing Book of Resolutions that the Executive Vice-President, Craft Directors, Editor in non-publication months, and Chief Stewards receive meeting pay for all Union meetings during the calendar year as long as they have been absent from no more than 3 meetings during the previous calendar year.  Motion passed with 9 yay’s and 1 nay. 



A motion was made by Chris Opolka and seconded by Dave Kroll to have the next meeting on Thursday, November 19th at 2 pm.  Motion passed unanimously.


A motion was made by Dave Kroll and seconded by Chris Opolka to adjourn the meeting.  Motion passed unanimously.  NEWAL meeting adjourned at 2030 hours.  

The $10 door prize was won by Kelsey Helf.

Attendees: See attached sign-in sheet.

Minutes submitted by Recording Secretary Jenny Starry.